Somebody copied your content?

By Kidino @ 1 April, 2006

DIGG THIS DEL.ICIO.US COMMENTS EMAIL THIS

Somebody copied your content?

Well, it happened to me today. I was promoting an ebook. My promotion is rather special because I interviewed the author. I did that because I want my readers to know what they are actually buying before having to spend their money.

If you want to know how I did the interview, you can read an article I did sometime ago on recording a telephone interview.

With an MP3 file of the recording, I put up a flash audio page using TotalWebAudio. And I also offered the MP3 file for download. I do that in case some of my readers are not on broadband. So they can download the MP3, and listen to it from their hard drive.

But here’s what happened. I was looking to through the statistics for my newly created page. It was created about 4 days ago. One of the things I like look for is where visitors are coming from. Suddenly I saw an address that’s not so familiar.

I opened up that address in my browser … and I was surprised! It felt like you were been robbed. Somebody has the exact same page about my interview. The thing is, he is using his affiliate ID to refer visitors to the ebook, using MY WORK!

If you want to promote the product too … be creative about it. Create your own promo materials — and don’t use mine!

So what did I do?

First I tried to WHOIS his site. But he domain is protected with privacy protector. So I don’t know how I can contact this guy. But I know his host and his domain registrar. So I wrote an email to file a complaint about this guy. I sent it to both the domain name and the domain registrar.

Then I searched for his name in Google. It turns out he has another site. This time when I WHOISed it, it has his email address. So I emailed him.

As of now, I’ve got a reply from the web hosting. The guy from the web hosting turns out to be somebody I’ve worked with in the past. And he said that he will track down the client. And he will suspend the account until the guy contacts him back.

Hmm … I still waiting for a reply from the domain registrar and the guy himself. I was told that GoDaddy is strict about something like this. But his registrar is eNom.com though.

Maybe I will update you about this in the future …

Sphinn
DIGG THIS DEL.ICIO.US COMMENTS EMAIL THIS
Comments TRACKBACK
  1. 1

    Sunny Tan said [1 April 2006 @ 8:12 pm]

    Yo Kid,

    Sorry to hear about that. It happened to me as well. One joker from somewhere literally copied the main text of one of my main sites.

    After tracking down that guy I emailed that fella. And guess what? He “slightly” modified it and still retained the whole portion of it again.

    Geezz.. sometimes I wonder why can’t some ppl work their brains out a bit and try to be a little creative.

    Sunny Tan

  2. 2

    Kidino said [2 April 2006 @ 9:43 pm]

    Trying doing what I did. Seems to work.

  3. 3

    ReadyCompanies said [3 April 2006 @ 12:36 am]

    hi

    try also searching his email address - it might you give you more info

    some times you can also get the website owner’s telephone numbers from the whois search

    also try using this program - www.CopyScape.com

  4. 4

    Andre Chaperon said [3 April 2006 @ 10:41 pm]

    Here is a quick solution… tell Alexis about it. Get HER to kick the guy from her affiliate program (so he’s gets no cash) UNTIL he stops driving traffic from the stolen page.

    Cut his money stream off and he’ll stop. Simple!

    Andre

  5. 5

    Kidino said [3 April 2006 @ 10:46 pm]

    Yeah … that’s a good one Andre.

  6. 6

    David said [3 April 2006 @ 11:51 pm]

    Luckily I asked permission first … definitely not me.

    http://www.articlestools.com/dbointerview.shtml

  7. 7

    Frank Woodman Jr said [4 April 2006 @ 12:52 am]

    Yep, I’ve had my sites and pages stolen also.

    Most of my problems were others using frames to capture my sites as they are information and link pages more than sales pages per say.

    It makes it doubly bad when they do it this way as they also steal my bandwidth. The page is downloaded from my site using my bandwidth just “framed” to look like it’s on their site. So they’ve stick me with the bandwidth fees as well as stealing my ideas and information.

    It sure burns you up when they steal stuff when it’s so easy to change it and make it their own. I guess it more a matter of laziness than anything else. That and they’re saving money on their bandwidth fees.

    I turn then in to their ISP’s and Host Providers as well as email them if I can track them down. It usually stops this but it takes time and effort that I could better use for other purposes.

    So the moral of the story is to watch out for people “framing” your sites as well as just copying them. If you do a little research there are ways to stop this and if you use a back drop showing your site name or something else that shows that it’s your unique site it can provide a low tek way to help stop it.

    PS I also hide a URL back link to a page on my site and other info and identification on my pages in the same color as the background. That helps too find these sites. I’ve found most of the time these guys aren’t smart enough or careful enough to look for such things. Doing that allows for me to search for other URL’s that have links to my pages which shows them up.

  8. 8

    Britinus said [4 April 2006 @ 4:18 am]

    One of my newbie clients downloaded your interview and had planned to add it to another product she was creating for her private customers.

    I queried with her whether she had permission to distribute it.

    To cut a long story short she interpreted your opening line: “Exclusive for Kidino’s Readers Only…” as meaning that being one of your readers SHE could distribute it to her own customers with a restriction: “This is for your personal use only! You do not have any rights to distribute it to others.”

    She has now decided she will not be distributing it!

    I would suggest you add the words she was going to use regarding distribution, to your download link. This way, it is made clear to the visitor that they do NOT have ANY rights to do anything other than listen to it!

    Brit-In-US

  9. 9

    Roy said [4 April 2006 @ 11:58 pm]

    Same thing happened to me a few years back.

    I run a horse racing tipping service in the UK called the
    2% Racing Syndicate at www.2percentracing.com

    One of my long term members was approached via
    a postal mail shot and informed me that I should take
    a look at this thief’s site.

    It seems they lacked even the imagination to come up with a name. They called themselves the 3% Racing Syndicate and there mailshot and site was an EXACT copy of mine, word for word, except for the 3% bit in the title.

    I later found that they had even joined my service under a different name and were supplying the same horses as my service and were even using my recorded message copied word for word again.

    As you can imagine, I was furious! I sent them a solicitors letter but it turned out they were using a PO Box address to hide behind.

    They went out of business once they tried giving out their own tips though, so it was good riddance to bad rubbish.

    These people are just thieves and in the long run the only option is to sue them. However, that costs money which you would probably have very little chance of recovering, and they know this too.

    They say imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, but plagiarism is rife all over the internet.

    Hope you get your thief sorted out Kid.

  10.  

     

    Leave a Reply

Kidino the Author

MoneyClicking Ezine
Your Free Doses of Tips & Tricks to Web Building for Internet Marketing. And Sometimes Marketing Strategies on the Net too ... all from yours truly, Iszuddin Ismail aka Kidino.

Name

Email





Read My XSitePro Review



Read My Affiliate Project X Review
Links
Categories

Internet Marketing And SEO Blog Top Sites